Eighteen Ober|Kaler Lawyers Named 2009 “Best Lawyers”

BALTIMORE, MD September 19, 2008 (LAWFUEL) – Eighteen lawyers from Ober|Kaler were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2009 (Copyright 2008 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, S.C.). Once again, the rankings put Ober|Kaler in first place for health care law and maritime law in Maryland. Overall, Ober|Kaler’s recognition spans eighteen practice areas.

Ober|Kaler’s health law attorneys have repeatedly dominated the Health Care section, with more attorneys listed than any other Maryland firm. Given long-standing recognition of their depth of experience and knowledge in the area are Health Law practice chair Sanford V. Teplitzky (since 1991), Leonard C. Homer (since 1991), Howard L. Sollins (since 1993), and S. Craig Holden (since 2007). All are resident in the firm’s Baltimore headquarters.

Four health law attorneys from the firm’s Washington, DC office also made the list. Recognized for their fourth consecutive year are DC health law attorneys Thomas K. Hyatt and Patrick K. O’Hare, who have also been recognized for their experience in Nonprofit law for two years running; and, for the sixth consecutive year, Martha P. Rogers, also recognized for her work in White Collar Criminal Defense. John J. Miles was selected for his outstanding reputation as an Antitrust lawyer focusing on the health care sector.

Once again leading the Maryland Maritime law listing, three Ober|Kaler attorneys are recognized for their significant contribution to the specialty area. Since 1989, the Best Lawyers listing has included Donald C. Greenman and M. Hamilton Whitman, Jr., who is also recognized in the 2009 edition of Best Lawyers for his work in Alternative Dispute Resolution and International Arbitration. Admiralty practice chair Geoffrey S. Tobias was selected for his exceptional work in both Maritime and Immigration law.

Recognized for their exceptional work in Construction law are Joseph C. Kovars and John Anthony Wolf. Mr. Wolf also has the distinction of being selected for his legal skill in Alternative Dispute Resolution, Commercial Litigation, and International Arbitration.

Chair of the firm’s Financial Institutions Group, Frank C. Bonaventure was recognized for the fourth time for his work in Banking law.

Kenneth B. Abel, co-chair of the firm’s Business & Tax Group, has been selected for the second consecutive year for his legal skill in Corporate law and Mergers & Acquisitions law.

Chair of the firm’s Intellectual Property Group, E. Scott Johnson is once again recognized for his work in Intellectual Property and Entertainment Law.

Carlyle C. Ring, Jr., attorney in the firm’s Intellectual Property practice and member of the Uniform Commercial Code Permanent Editorial board, was selected again for his work in Information Technology law.

Finance practice chair Alan J. Mogol garnered a repeat selection for his exceptional work in Equipment Finance law.

Ober|Kaler Trusts and Estates practice chair Donald R. Mering was also selected for the 2009 Best Lawyers listing, an honor he has received since 1993.

About Best Lawyers
Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 25,000 leading attorneys cast almost two million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their specialties, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

About Ober|Kaler
Ober|Kaler is a national law firm providing integrated regulatory, transactional, and litigation services to financial, health care, construction, and other business organizations. The firm has more than 125 attorneys, and offices in Baltimore, Washington, D.C. and Falls Church.

Scroll to Top