Leading law firm named finalist in New Zealand Law Awards

MinterEllisonRuddWatts is proud to be named as a finalist in all deal categories, and a challenger for the Large Law Firm of the Year, Deal Team of the Year and Employer of Choice categories.
The New Zealand Law Awards celebrate excellence within the legal profession. They recognise outstanding achievements advising on the country’s largest and most complex deals, commitment to delivering excellent client service, and the country’s leading legal expertise.
Lloyd Kavanagh, Chair of MinterEllisonRuddWatts says: “We are proud to be named as a finalist in the awards. This recognises the place of our firm as one of New Zealand’s foremost law firms. It reflects our commitment to achieving great, innovative outcomes for our clients, while being a great place to work. We do that through our twin strengths of diversity of talent, and one team collaboration.”
The firm’s recognition follows being named New Zealand Law Firm of the Year by Chambers and Partners Asia-Pacific.
Award categories and deal nominations include:
– Large law firm of the year
– Employer of Choice
– Deal team of the year
– M&A Deal of the Year –
o Accident Compensation Corporation and NZ Super’s Acquisition of stake in Kiwibank Group
o Allnex Acquisition of Nuplex Industries
o Silver Fern Farms share sale
o Z Energy Acquisition of Chevron New Zealand
– Capital Markets Deal of the Year –
o Synlait Milk’s Capital Raising and dual listing
– Consumer, Media and Tech Deal of the Year –
o NBC Universal-MediaWorks for Bravo channel launch
– International Deal of the Year –
o Silver Fern Farms share sale
– Mid-Market Deal of the Year –
o Tomra acquisition of Compac Sorting
o Vector’s acquisition of E-Co Products
Congratulations to the finalists for the MinterEllisonRuddWatts In-house Lawyer of the Year Award –
o Andrew Cordner – Fonterra
Sasha Daniels – Spark New Zealand
o Jonathon Earl – KiwiRail
o Katherine Evans – Zespri International Ltd
o David Knight – Transpower New Zealand Ltd
o Catherine Schache – Environment Canterbury
o Malcolm Shaw – New Zealand Post Ltd
o Howard Thomas – Mercury
o Scott Weenink – Auckland Airport
o Blair Williams – IAG New Zealand
Winners will be announced at a gala event on 23 November at the Langham Auckland.
Named New Zealand Law Firm of the Year by Chambers and Partners in 2017, MinterEllisonRuddWatts is a top tier New Zealand law firm known for providing clients with technically excellent legal solutions and innovative advice. We are trusted advisors and work alongside our clients to ensure success. We are proud to be a New Zealand law firm offering a global outlook. Our offices in Auckland and Wellington are able to access an international network through the MinterEllison Legal Group, a leading firm in the Asia-Pacific. The firm supports numerous charitable endeavours and organisations through its pro bono and fundraising initiatives.
Scroll to Top