Washington DC’s Top Women Lawyers – National Law Journal Names Washington’s Most Influencial Women Lawyers

NEW YORK (June 28, 2010) – The National Law Journal today named its 2010 list of “Washington’s Most Influential Women Lawyers.” The listing recognizes women who set the legal agenda in the nation’s capital and includes 33 lawyers from private firms, government, and advocacy and trade groups. They range from the two women on the Supreme Court (and one more who’s likely to be) to the heads of practice groups and offices at D.C. firms to civil rights activists. The complete report is available in today’s issue of The National Law Journal and on www.nlj.com.

Awardees were selected by the editors of The National Law Journal, based upon reporting over the past year and nominations from peers in the D.C. legal community. They will be honored, along with the legal “Champions” and “Visionaries” named previously this year, at a gala dinner Sept 30 at The Willard in Washington, D.C.

“In Washington, these are women whose power and legal acumen commands the respect of their peers regardless of gender,” said David Brown, editor in chief of The National Law Journal.

This year’s honorees are:

Nan Aron, president, Alliance for Justice

Charlene Barshefsky, partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr
Elise Bean, Democratic staff director and chief counsel, U.S. Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations
Beth Brinkmann, deputy assistant attorney general, Civil Division appellate staff
Robin Conrad, executive vice president, National Chamber Litigation Center
Marianna Dyson, chair, Miller & Chevalier
Deborah Feinstein, partner, Arnold & Porter
Alice Fisher, partner, Latham & Watkins
Deborah Garza, partner, Covington & Burling
Ruth Bader Ginsburg, justice, U.S. Supreme Court
Jamie Gorelick, partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr
Marcia Greenberger, co-president, National Women’s Law Center
Elena Kagan, solicitor general, Solicitor General’s Office
Carolyn Lamm, partner, White & Case and president, American Bar Association
Debra Lee, chairman and CEO, BET Holdings Inc.
Linda Lipsen, chief executive officer, American Association for Justice
Marcia Madsen, partner, Mayer Brown
Laura Miller, partner, Nixon Peabody
Patricia Millett, partner, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld
Heather Podesta, founder, Heather Podesta + Partners
Mary Ellen Powers, Washington partner in charge, Jones Day
Jane Sullivan Roberts, managing director, Major, Lindsey & Africa
Lisa Rickard, president, Institute for Legal Reform, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Kathryn Ruemmler, deputy counsel to the president, White House Counsel’s Office
Judith Sandalow, executive director, Children’s Law Center
Linda Singer, partner, Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll
Melanie Sloan, executive director, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington
Sonia Sotomayor, justice, U.S. Supreme Court
Grace Speights, Washington managing partner, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
Cheryl Tritt, partner, Wilkinson Barker Knauer
Christine Varney, assistant attorney general, Antitrust Division, U.S. Department of Justice
Helgi Walker, partner, Wiley Rein
Beth Wilkinson, partner, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison

For additional information on the September 30 awards dinner, contact Lisa Sharpe at (212) 457-7840 or lsharpe@alm.com or visit www.contactalm.com/ltawards.

Founded in 1978, The National Law Journal has the largest paid circulation of any weekly publication serving the legal community. The NLJ is published by ALM.

ALM, an integrated media company, is a leading provider of specialized business news, research and information, focused primarily on the legal and commercial real estate sectors. ALM’s market-leading brands include The American Lawyer, Corporate Counsel, GlobeSt.com, Insight Conferences, Law.com, Law Journal Press, LegalTech, The National Law Journal and Real Estate Forum. Headquartered in New York City, ALM was formed in 1997. For more information, visit www.alm.com.

Scroll to Top