Over 1400 British lawyers gathered at The Marriott Grosvenor House Hotel on Tuesday night for the biggest night of the year in the legal profession, The Lawyer Awards. Check out the winners.

Berwin Leighton Paisner walked away with the prestigious, Law Firm of the Year award but the biggest cheer of the evening went to the winners of the Public Sector Team of the Year Award: the Hutton Inquiry team. It was that inquiry which had “ruined the summer” of the host for the evening, Tony Blair’s former right-hand man Alastair Campbell.

Category Winner

In-house Commerce & Industry Team of the Year – Benfield Group
Public Sector Team of the Year – Hutton Inquiry Team
In-house Banking & Finance Team of the Year – Citigroup
In-house TMT Team of the Year – Channel 4
In-house Lawyer of the Year – Julia Braybrook, The Sunday Telegraph
European In-house Team of the Year – HypoVereinsbank
Barrister of the Year – Richard Latham QC, Seven Bedford Row
Chambers of the Year – Wilberforce Chambers
Pro Bono Activity of the Year – LawWorks – SPBG
Finance Team of the Year – Sidley Austin Brown & Wood
Corporate Team of the Year – Travers Smith Braithwaite
M & A Team of the Year – Simmons & Simmons
Employment Team of the Year – National Union of Teachers
Projects / PFI Team of the Year – Shearman & Sterling
Media / IP & IT Team of the Year – Allen & Overy and DLA
Real Estate Team of the Year – SJ Berwin
Litigation Team of the Year – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Assistant Solicitor of the Year – Mohammed Paracha, Norton Rose
Partner of the Year – Mike Francies, Weil Gotshal & Manges
Management Team of the Year – Addleshaw Goddard
Offshore Firm of the Year – Mourant du Feu & Jeune
Niche Firm of the Year – Gordons
Global Law Firm of the Year – Linklaters
US Law Firm of the Year – Weil Gotshal & Manges
Law Firm of the Year – Berwin Leighton Paisner
Lifetime Achievement Award – Lord Lester of Herne Hill, Blackstone Chambers

Scroll to Top