April 12, 2007 – LAWFUEL – Australia Law – The College of Law rece…

April 12, 2007 – LAWFUEL – Australia Law – The College of Law recently celebrated the opening of its Perth office to offer Western Australian lawyers and graduates the very best in Practical Legal Training (PLT).

At present, the College’s Professional Program enables law graduates to satisfy the requirements for admission as legal practitioners in New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland. The College will be seeking accreditation to operate a tailored program for Western Australian Law graduates as soon as enabling legislation is in place to allow the College to do so.

The College of Law Western Australia’s inaugural CEO, Michael Cole, said he felt privileged to be a part of such a promising enterprise.

Mr Cole also said he would be working with an impressive Board, which includes Chairman, The Hon Dr Chris Carr; the Deputy Chancellor of Murdoch University, Ms Alison Gaines; the Dean of Murdoch University’s Law School, Professor Gabriel Moens; the Group Managing Director of The College of Law Pty Ltd, Mr Neville Carter; and the Chair of The College of Law Pty Ltd, Ms June McPhie.

The Honorable Dr Christopher Carr
The Honorable Dr Christopher Carr was a Justice of the Federal Court of Australia from 1993 to 2004, following a career spanning more than 26 years as a sole practitioner, solicitor, partner, barrister and university lecturer in Western Australia.

Alison Gaines
Ms Alison Gaines is the Deputy Chancellor of Murdoch University and Chair of the Senate’s Legislation Committee, following her appointment by the Governor to the Senate in 1999.

From 1998 until 2006 Ms Gaines was the Chief Executive Officer of the Law Society of Western Australia, during which she was nominated as State Finalist for the Telstra Business Women’s Award in 2000. Ms Gaines has been a public servant and academic for more than 15 years in the State and Federal public sector and has held international, national and Western Australian Board and Committee positions for the last 20 years.

Gabriel Moens
Professor Gabriël Moens is a Professor of Law and Dean of the Law School, Murdoch University. Professor Moens is a noted author and has previously taught at a number of universities including the University of Queensland, where he was the Garrick Professor of Law, Brigham Young University and Loyola University. He is a Membre Titulaire of the International Academy of Comparative Law in Paris, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators and has also served as the Director of the Australian Institute of Foreign and Comparative Law.

Neville Carter
Mr Neville Carter, Group Managing Director of The College of Law Pty Ltd, brings more than 20 years experience in pre-admission training to the board, gained through previous positions as the National Director, Institute of Professional Legal Studies, New Zealand; Associate Professor and Head of School of Legal Practice at UTS; Senior Lecturer and Head Professional Practice, University of Technology, Mara, Shah Alam, Malaysia and as a partner in a three-partner Sydney law firm. Mr Carter is a former Chairman of the Australasian Professional Legal Education Council and is currently a Director of Quality in Law Inc and an Evaluator for the Australian Business Excellence Awards.

June McPhie

Ms June McPhie, provides invaluable experience to the Board of The College of Law Western Australia considering her stewardship as Chairman of The College of Law Pty Ltd since 2005. Ms McPhie is also the immediate past president of the Law Society of NSW and has been a Partner of Blaxland Mawson and Rose following her admission to practice in 1991.

Scroll to Top