Attorney Awards – Michael Boone Receives J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award

DALLAS – LAWFUEL – Legal Announcements – Haynes and Boone, LLP announced today that Michael Boone has been honored as the 2008 recipient of the J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award presented by Southern Methodist University’s Cary M. Maguire Center for Ethics and Responsibility. The award, named in honor of the former Dallas mayor, was presented to Mr. Boone in recognition of his civic activism, commitment to public service and generous charitable contributions.

As a J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award recipient, Boone joins an elite group of Dallas’ most respected business and philanthropic leaders, including Stanley Marcus, Curtis W. Meadows Jr., Dr. Ron J. Anderson, Roger Staubach, and Dr. Charles C. Sprague.

“Mike Boone’s leadership in civic affairs, public and private education, and community outreach has made a major impact on the Dallas area,” said SMU President R. Gerald Turner when making the award announcement. “His service is dedicated to making our community a better place in which to live, raise a family and pursue a career. He is an outstanding role model of ethical, faith-based leadership finding expression in a deep sense of public responsibility.”

In addition to this most recent honor, Mr. Boone has also been recognized as a Distinguished Alumnus of Southern Methodist University and the Dedman School of Law, and has received (among other honors and awards) the Justinian Award for Public Service and the Jack Lowe Sr. Award for Community Leadership. In 2006, Boone was named “Friend of the Year” by Friends of Texas Public Schools.

“We are so proud, both personally and as a firm, that Mike is being recognized for his passion and commitment to community service,” said Haynes and Boone Managing Partner Terry Conner. “The high standards he sets for himself permeate throughout the firm as he leads by example every day. Mike has never been more active than he is today within the firm and in the community. His generous nature has always been, and remains, a cornerstone of the Haynes and Boone culture.”

Outside of his work at Haynes and Boone, Mr. Boone is an active member of the Board of Trustees of SMU, a member of the Executive Committee at the SMU Dedman School of Law, a former adjunct professor of securities law at the SMU Dedman School of Law, a past president of the Highland Park School Board, a former member of the Board of Trustees of Abilene Christian University, and a past chairman of the Dallas Citizen Council.

Mr. Boone, co-founder and partner in Haynes and Boone’s Securities Practice Group, has more than 30 years experience in corporate and securities law. His experience has earned him many professional accolades. Among them, Mr. Boone was named the “Go-To-Lawyer” in Texas in corporate law by Texas Lawyer, one of the top corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions lawyers in Dallas by D Magazine, and one of the Top 10 Super Lawyers by Texas Monthly and Law and Politics Magazine.

As part of its mission, the Maguire Center gives several awards designed to recognize and honor ethical behavior, provide moral reflection on contemporary ethical issues, and celebrate the ethics that reflect SMU’s fundamental goals throughout the campus and in the Greater Dallas community. The J. Erik Jonsson Award is given to individuals who exemplify the spirit of moral leadership and public virtue.

The award, a bronze relief of J. Erik Jonsson inscribed with the phrase “public virtue,” was presented to Mr. Boone during a luncheon and ceremony held at the Belo Mansion.
Haynes and Boone, LLP is an international corporate law firm with offices in Texas, New York, Washington, D.C., Mexico City and Moscow, providing a full spectrum of legal services. With almost 500 attorneys, Haynes and Boone is ranked among the largest law firms in the nation by The National Law Journal. The firm has been recognized as one of the “Best Corporate Law Firms in America” (Corporate Board Member Magazine, 2001-2007), and as a Top 100 law firm for both diversity (MultiCultural Law Magazine, 2008), and women (Women 3.0, 2008).

Scroll to Top