Boston, MA (January 8, 2006) – LAWFUEL – The Law News Network – Cons…

Boston, MA (January 8, 2006) – LAWFUEL – The Law News Network –, the most comprehensive resource on the Internet for news and information on technology and communication standards, today announced the winners of its second annual News Sources Awards. The Awards are made to the news services and journalists that best report on ITC standards and open source software news, and to the standards development organizations that were considered to be most newsworthy during the preceding year.

The Awards are made in two categories: statistical and special recognition. The former are based on the number of articles per individual source selected for linking at the Standards News Portal from the thousands that were reviewed during the course of the year for that purpose, while the latter are based on the perceived value of the news and analysis that individual journalists provided to, and about, the open standards and open source communities.

In announcing the 2005 Awards, founder and Editor Andrew Updegrove stated: “We take great pleasure in bringing this recognition to the news services and individuals that have best conveyed to their readers the vital role that open standards and open source play in the modern world of information and communications technology.”

This year’s Awards are as follows:

Statistical Awards

1. Most Newsworthy Standard Setting Organization (Consortium, Accredited Standards Developer or Open Source Project)

First Place: Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Systems (OASIS)
Second Place: World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
Third Place: European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)
2. Best On-Line Coverage of ICT Standards by an On-Line News Service

First Place:
Second Place:
Third Place:
3 Best Coverage of ICT Standards by an On-Line Journalist

First Place: Martin LaMonica –
Second Place: Matthew Broersma – ZDNet UK
Third Place (tie): Ingrid Marson- ZDNet UK and Steven Vaughn-Nichols –
Special Recognition Awards

Best Columnist/Blogger (Commercial): David Berlind –
Best Community Site or Blog (Non-Profit): Pamela Jones –

The awards were announced in the January issue of the Consortium Standards Bulletin in an article that includes further details on the selection criteria, methodology and the unique contributions of the recipients of the Special Recognition Awards. The article may be found at:


About is the most detailed and comprehensive resource on the Internet on the topics of standard setting and consortia. The thousands of standards that are maintained by standard setting organizations today are what allow the myriad independent technical elements of our modern, technological world to interoperate. The site’s many free features include a daily-updated news portal, the Consortium Standards Bulletin, the most extensive list of standard setting organizations in existence, the Standards MetaLibrary, the Standards Blog, the Essential Guide to Standard Setting and Consortia, and much more. More than 200,000 standards professionals, government personnel, academics and others from more than 130 countries visit the site each month. The site is sponsored by Gesmer Updegrove LLP

Scroll to Top