Corporate Counsel Awards – WMACCA Names Finalists for 2007 Corporate Counsel Awards

— Winners to Be Announced on October 25 at Awards Gala —

WASHINGTON– LAWFUEL – The Legal Newswire – The Washington Metropolitan Area Corporate Counsel Association (WMACCA), the largest regional bar association for in-house counsel, today announced finalists for its 2007 Corporate Counsel Awards. The awards honor the work of the region’s leading in-house practitioners over the past year in four categories — Outstanding Chief Legal Officer, Outstanding In-House Counsel, Outstanding Law Department, and Community Service. Winners will be announced at the WMACCA 3rd Annual Corporate Counsel Awards Reception at The Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner, in McLean, Va., on October 25, 2007.

The 13 finalists for the 2007 WMACCA Corporate Counsel Awards are:

Outstanding Chief Legal Officer:

— Scott D. Chaplin, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary,
Stanley, Inc.

— James E. Daniel, Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary, SI
International, Inc.

— Deborah Fox, Corporate Vice President and General Counsel,
Apogen Technologies

— Matthew H. Small, Chief Legal Officer, Blackboard Inc.

— James E. Williams, Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate
Secretary, Liquidity Services, Inc.

Outstanding In-House Counsel:

— Andrew E. Shipley, Corporate Director and Assistant General
Counsel, Northrop Grumman Corp.

— Joseph Uglialoro, Senior Corporate Counsel, GTSI Corp.

Outstanding Law Department:

— Alion Science & Technology Corp.

— American Capital Strategies, Ltd.

— XO Holdings Inc.

Community Service Award:

— Mary P. Morningstar, Lockheed Martin Corp.

— Kristin P. Walinski, Circuit City Stores, Inc.

— Sodexho Inc.
“In-house counsel play a vital role in the achievements of their organizations,” said Mary E. Kennard, WMACCA president and vice president and general counsel, American University. “We are proud and excited to honor our colleagues and their outstanding contributions. We congratulate the finalists and the many nominees.”

The finalists were selected from a large pool of nominations submitted by the legal community at large in response to an open call for nominations. The panel of judges for the Corporate Counsel Awards is comprised of: Mike Daniels, Consultant, SAIC, and Former Chairman and CEO of Mobile365; Mary Kennard, Vice President and General Counsel, American University; Bobbie Greene Kilberg, President and CEO, Northern Virginia Technology Council; Bob Kipps, Managing Director, KippsDeSanto & Co.; Fred Krebs, President, Association of Corporate Counsel; Michael Lustbader, Managing Director, Arlington Capital Partners; Philip Odeen, Non-Executive Chairman, Avaya Inc.; Manik Rath, Vide President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, LMI; Eric Reicin, Vice President and Deputy General Counsel, Sallie Mae Inc.; and Louise Wager, Vice President, Commerce Bank.

The Corporate Counsel Awards were created in 2005 in celebration of WMACCA’s 25th anniversary. In just two short years, the WMACCA Corporate Counsel Awards have become a well-recognized and sought-after honor for in-house community in the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Virginia, and suburban Maryland.


With more than 1,500 members, the Washington Metropolitan Area Corporate Counsel Association (WMACCA) serves the professional needs of in-house counsel in Washington, D.C., suburban Maryland, and Virginia. WMACCA is the largest chapter of the global Association of Corporate Counsel (ACC). WMACCA members can participate in more than 60 substantive networking and professional development programs each year and are kept connected through monthly and quarterly newsletters and an annual membership directory. WMACCA has been active in issues and education to encourage advancements in the standards of corporate legal practice. More information about WMACCA is available on its Web site:

Scroll to Top