WASHINGTON, June 13, 2004 – LAWFUEL – The President today declared a m…

WASHINGTON, June 13, 2004 – LAWFUEL – The President today declared a major
disaster exists in the State of Missouri and ordered Federal aid to supplement
State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms,
tornadoes, and flooding on May 18-31, 2004.

The President’s action makes Federal funding available to affected
individuals in the counties of Adair, Andrew, Bates, Benton, Buchanan,
Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clay, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb,
Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Jackson, Johnson, Knox, Linn,
Livingston, Macon, Mercer, Monroe, Nodaway, Platte, Polk, Randolph, Ray,
Shelby, St. Clair, Sullivan, Vernon, and Worth.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-
cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help
individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-share basis for hazard
mitigation measures.

Representing the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Michael D.
Brown, Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of
Homeland Security, named Libby Turner as the Federal Coordinating Officer for
Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said additional designations may be made at a later date if
requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage

The Agency said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in
the designated counties can begin applying for assistance tomorrow by calling
1-800-621-FEMA(3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech
impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
seven days a week until further notice.

Scroll to Top